Skip to content ↓

Maundene Primary School

Pupil Leadership

The Junior Leadership Team's role is to act as link between the children, the Senior Leadership Team and the governors of Maundene Primary School. Members of the Junior Leadership Team (JLT) have a special role in making sure that the children in our school have a voice in how Maundene continues to grow. Each member of the JLT is elected through a democratic process, empowering pupils to make choices about their education.

What is a Junior Leadership Team?

A Junior Leadership Team is group of students who are elected to represent the views of all pupils and work together to improve their school.  We follow a democratic process to elect the leaders.  If they wish to become a junior leader, the pupils must present a short speech to the class expressing why they feel they should be a member of the team. Their class then decide and a secret vote takes place.

Who are the Junior Leadership Team?

At Maundene we have two representatives from each class who form the JLT. The Head Boy and Head Girl are also part of our Junior Leadership Team.

What do the Junior Leadership Team do?

The JLT meet staff every fortnight and discuss issues that are important to the children.  They have an agenda which they create themselves. The Head Boy and Head Girl chair and minute the meeting.

The JLT meet with the governing body regularly to share their work with them. They also have a high level of input in monitoring of the impact of changes and improvements across the school.

Below are our Junior Leaders from each class for the 2021 - 2022 academic year:


Headboy: Harley

Headgirl: Evie

Deputy Headboy: Thomas

Deputy Headgirl: Melina

Year 1 Finches: Isabella and Elliot

Year 1 Kestrels: Ryan and Aubrey-Olivia

Year 2 Blackbirds: Caiden and Thea

Year 2 Robins: Nathan and Kimberley

Year 3 Woodpeckers: Millie and Oakley

Year 3 Falcons: Sophie and Jacob

Year 4 Owls: Isla and Noah

Year 4 Ravens: Rory and Armani

Year 5 Swans: Bethany and Teddy

Year 5 Jays: Henry and Millie

Year 6 Ospreys: Taylor and Finely

Year 6 Eagles: Rebecca and Harry